RSS Feed

Getting your goat or vice versa…

Posted on

When I moved to the farm a friend gave me a goat.  I named her Riva.  I didn’t know a thing about goats so a lot of what I did was trial and error.

There was an old chicken coop on the property that made a perfect goat house.  It was huge and had a little door so she could go out to a large fenced in area.  I was confident that she would be happy and safe in her new home and went off to work.  When I got home she was nowhere to be found.  Of course I feared the worst and started to look for her.  At one point when I thought I’d never see her again there was a scuffling noise behind me and then I was flying through the air.  Riva, furious with me for leaving her alone, charged out from behind the barn (when the moment was right) and butted me as goats do in cartoons.

riva©sig

She really got even with me!

9 responses »

  1. A coworker of mine had a mini goat whose favorite actvity was climbing on top of the large doghouse that served as a goat shed and just perching there. My uncle had a full size nanny goat that took a strong dislike to my horse (usually it’s the other way around) and we had to keep them separated. Goats are pretty interesting and a lot smarter than they look.

    Reply
    • That’s funny about the mini got on the doghouse! They love to climb! All my friends had cat prints on their cars, mine had little cloven hoof prints. They got along with my horses but Riva hated one of my dogs, the smallest one who thought she could take on any farm animal, big or small.

      Reply
  2. Yup – goats like to roam 🙂

    Reply
  3. I like goats but this is the thing that worries me about them. This, and the fact that they eat your laundry. It must have been something of an unpleasant surprise to be launched skywards by a headbut. I hope it hasn’t put you off Riva, although I can imagine you might be a little nervous now.

    Reply
    • It’s funny but my goats (I ended up with 4 altogether, 2 being the product of another of Riva’s escapades) never seemed to eat strange things. I know goats have the reputation of eating anything in sight. But I had a pet pig that tried to eat my dress once, she really had weird habits! I plan on doing a post on her soon. Sadly though all of these little guys are gone now but none of them ended up on the table!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

