Bluebird

Posted on

When I was little I was always captivated (like most kids) by children’s book illustrations.  Some were well done others not as good but if they were done with a lot of imagination and told the story well it didn’t matter.  

We (my sister and brothers) often reminisce about the books we had and if we can remember them after all these years they must have been good.

One book in particular has stayed with me to this day.  It’s long gone but I recently found the images on the internet and was amazed at how much the artist has influenced my work. The swirling lines, detail and colour are what impressed me the most in his illustrations.

I think that book was on my mind when I did this painting.

in this piece I used Pigma Micron pens to outline the subject and then coloured in with Derwent Inktense water colour pencils.

Leave a comment